Summary《The Lightning Thief 》

The Lightning Thief is a 2005 fantasy–adventure novel. It is based on Greek mythology. It was the first young-adult book written by author Rick Riordan. It is the first book in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. The series is about the adventures of modern 12-year-old Percy Jackson after he discovers he is a demigod (half-human, half-god). Percy is the son of a mortal woman and the Greek god Poseidon. Percy and his friends go on a quest (adventure) so that a war between the Greek gods Zeus, Poseidon and Hades will not happen.


Riordan finished writing his manuscript in 1994. The Lightning Thief was first bought by Bantam Books in 1997. Bantam sold it to Miramax Books. Miramax published it on June 28, 2005. The book sold more than 1.2 million copies in the next four years. The book won many awards. In 2007, it was on The New York Times Best Seller list for children’s books. It was one of the Young Adult Library Services Association’s Best Books for Young Adults. It was made into a movie named Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief. The movie was first shown in the United States on February 12, 2010. The sequel to this book is The Sea of Monsters.


Percy Jackson is a 12 year old boy. He has ADHD and dyslexia. He has been thrown out of many schools. On a trip with his mother, he meets his friend Grover, a satyr (half-goat, half-human). Grover tells Percy’s mother that Percy must go to a camp. When they drive towards the camp, a Minotaur (monster) attacks them and grabs Percy’s mother. She dissolves into gold sparkles of light, but Grover and Percy escape.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Local News


About Us

Follow Us

Skip to toolbar